The University of Texas at San Antonio

Director & Staff

Mo Jamshidi, Ph.D.
Lutcher Brown Endowed Chair and Professor,
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Director

Autonomous Control Engineering Center
Office: BSE 2.214
Phone: (210) 458-7074
Fax: (210) 458-5947
Email: Mo.jamshidi@utsa.edu
or to moj@wacong.org
Profile Slide

Educational Background:
Ph.D., 1971, University of Illinois - Urbana-Champaign

Areas of Teaching Interest:
System of Systems, Intelligent Robotics

Areas of Research Interest:

Large-scale systems, System of systems

PROFESSIONAL CV

Control and Systems Engineering
A Report on Four Decades of Contributions

Patrick Benavidez, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Research,
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Assistant Director
Office: (210) 458-6566
Cell: (210) 259-6836

Email: p_b_2003@hotmail.com
Profile Slide

 

John J. Prevost, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor,
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Office: (210) 458-5027
Cell: (210) 861-7639
Email: jeff.prevost@utsa.edu
Profile Slide

 


Paul Rad, Ph.D.

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Industry Liaison
Email: paul.rad@rackspace.com

 


Ahmad Taha, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor,
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Phone: (210) 458-5568
Email: ahmad.taha@utsa.edu

 


Sara Ahmed, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor,
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Email: sara.ahmed@utsa.edu

 
 

Affiliated Faculty

 


Yashar Sahraei Manjili, Ph.D.

Email: yashar.sahraei@gmail.com

PROFESSIONAL CV
 


Ali Seifi, MD, FACP

Assistant Professor,
Department of Neurosurgery at the University of Texas Health Science Center San Antonio

Phone: (210) 567-5625
Email: seifi@uthscsa.edu

 


Matthew Joordens, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
School of Engineering
Deakin University, Australia

Email: matthew.joordens@deakin.edu.au

PROFESSIONAL CV
 


Ben Horan, Ph.D.

Directory CADET Virtual Reality Laboratory
Head of Discipline Mechatronics
School of Engineering
Deakin University, Australia

Email: ben.horan@deakin.edu.au

PROFESSIONAL CV
 

Honorary Professors

 


Asad Madni, Ph.D., NAE
President Emeritus
BEI Technology, Inc., USA

Email: ammadni@yahoo.com

 


Saeid Nahavandi, Ph.D.
Pro-Vice Chancellor
Deakin University, Australia

Email: saeid.nahavandi@deakin.edu.au

   

Our Team

Post-Doctoral Fellows
PhD Students
Masters Students
Bachelors Students
Visiting Scholars
Graduate Scholars

Post-Doctoral Fellows

Elham Gharib Shahi, Ph.D.
Areas of Interest: Nanotechnology and Nan-Science
Email: elhamgs2002@yahoo.com
Ehsaneh "Sunny" Shahhaidar, Ph.D.
Areas of Interest: Wearable Systems and Biosensors
Email: e.shahhaidar@gmail.com

Bio

Abed Motasemi, Ph.D.
Areas of Interest: Advanced Manufacturing and Enterprise Engineering
Email: abed.motasemi@gmail.com

PROFESSIONAL CV

 

PhD Students

 
Aldo S. Jaimes
Educational Level: Ph.D Student
Areas of Interest: Machine Intelligence and Learning
Email: aldo.jaimes@gmail.com
Yunus Yetis
Educational Level: Ph.D Student
Co-adviser: Ahmad Taha, Ph.D.
Areas of Interest: Control of Energy System, Open Cloud ,Forecasting
Email: yunusyetis68@hotmail.com
Halid Kaplan
Educational Level: Ph.D Student
Co-adviser: Sara Ahmed, Ph.D.
Areas of Interest: Control Systems, Renewable Energy, and Forecasting
Email: halid88@gmail.com
Berat Alper Erol
Educational Level: Ph.D Student
Areas of Interest: HCI, Machine Learning
Email: berat.erol@utsa.edu"
 
Abdurrahman Akuzum
Educational Level: Ph.D Student
Co-adviser: Sara Ahmed, Ph.D.
Areas of Interest: Solar-Powered Robotics, Control and Energy Systems
Email: a.akuzum@gmail.com
T. John Parsi, DDS
Educational Level: Masters Student
Areas of Interest: Engineering of Dental Procsses
Email: john@drparsi.com
Ali Miraftab
Educational Level: Ph.D Student
Co-adviser: Paul Rad, Ph.D.
Areas of Interest: Cloud Computing and Architecture, System of Systems, Communication Networks
Email: ali.miraftab@utsa.edu
Joaquin Labrado
Educational Level: Ph.D Student
Areas of Interest: Autonomous Spacecraft Control, 3D SLAM, Robotics
Affiliation: UTSA UAV Competition
Email: jdlabrado@gmail.com
Benjamin Champion
Educational Level: Ph.D Student
Adviser: Dr. Matthew Joordens, Deakin University, Australia
Co-adviser: Mo Jamshidi
Areas of Interest: Network Control with emphasis on Underwater Robotics
Email: btch@deakin.edu.au
Michael Mortimer
Educational Level: Ph.D Student
Adviser: Dr. Ben Horan, Deakin University, Australia
Co-adviser: Mo Jamshidi
Areas of Interest:
Email: mamort@deakin.edu.au
Profile Slide
Ahmed Abdelmawgoud
Educational Level: Ph.D Student
Areas of Interest: Cyber-Physical Systems
Email: asct82@hotmail.com
Mevlut Demir
Educational Level: Ph.D Student
Co-adviser: Jeff Prevost, Ph.D.
Areas of Interest: Mechatronics, Systems Engineering, Robotics, Renewable Energy
Email: mevlut.demir@utsa.edu
Amin Sahba
Educational Level: Ph.D Student
Areas of Interest: Cloud Computing and Architecture
Email: amin.sahba@gmail.com
Ramin Sahba
Educational Level: Ph.D Student
Areas of Interest: Cloud Computing and Architecture
Email: ramin.sahba@gmail.com
Jonathan Lwowski
Educational Level: Ph.D Student
Co-adviser: Jeff Prevost, Ph.D.
Areas of Interest: Robotic Swarms
Email: jonathan.lwowski@gmail.com
Gonzalo De La Torre
Educational Level: Ph.D Student
Co-adviser: Paul Rad, Ph.D.
Areas of Interest: Cloud, Software Define Networks and NFV
Email: gonzalo_delatorre@live.com
Prasanna Kolar
Educational Level: Ph.D Student
Areas of Interest: Autonomous Systems
Email: vdd121@my.utsa.edu
Nima Ebadi
Educational Level: Ph.D Student
Co-adviser: Paul Rad, Ph.D.
Areas of Interest:
Email: ucf235@my.utsa.edu
Parsa Yousefi
Educational Level: Ph.D Student
Co-adviser: Jeff Prevost, Ph.D.
Areas of Interest: Autonomous Systems, Robotics, Control, Cloud Computing
Email: parsa.yousefi@my.utsa.edu
 

Masters Students

Divya Bhaskaran
Educational Level: Masters Student
Areas of Interest: Autonomous Control
Email: ioa034@my.utsa.edu
Nick Gamez
Educational Level: Masters Student
Areas of Interest:
Email: jyi358@my.utsa.edu
Jackie Ortiz
Educational Level: Masters Student
Areas of Interest: Visual SLAM for Mobile Robotics
Email: jaqdandori@gmail.com
Shubham Sarpal
Educational Level: Masters Student
Areas of Interest: Robotics
Email: sarpal75@gmail.com
Abhijit Majumdar
Educational Level: Masters Student
Areas of Interest: Intelligent robots
Email: abhijitmajumdar1992@gmail.com
 
   

Bachelors Students

Steven Sprouse
Educational Level: Bachelors Student
Areas of Interest:
Email: sprouse_steve@yahoo.com
 
   

Visiting Scholars

Ben Horan
Educational Level: Ph.D
Areas of Interest: Unwater Robotics
Deakin University, Australia
Co-Advisors: S. Nahavandi, Mo Jamshidi
Email:
ben.horan@deakin.edu.au

Anjan Kumar Ray
Educational Level: Ph.D
Areas of Interest: Swarm Robotics
Indian Institute of Technology - Kanpur, India
Co-Advisors: L. Behera, Mo Jamshidi
Email: akray@iitk.ac.in
Sami Al-AbdRabbuh
Educational Level: Undergraduate
Areas of Interest: LEGO Mindstorms
The King Fahd University, Saudi Arabia
Email:
sami.alabdrabbuh@gmail.com

Aleksandar Jevtic
Educational Level: Ph.D
Areas of Interest: Swarm Robotics
Universidad Politecnica de Madrid, Spain
Co-Advisors: D. Andina, Mo Jamshidi
Email:
aleksandar.jevtic@upm.es

Luis Luque
Educational Level: Masters
Areas of Interest: UAV
Cinvestav, Mexico
Co-Advisors: E. Sanchez, Mo Jamshidi
Email:
luisferlv@hotmail.com
Ilhan Yilmaz
Educational Level: Undergraduate
Areas of Interest: Unmanned Aerial Vehicle & Pilot
Turkey
Email:
ilhanyilmaz_85@hotmail.com




Mathew Joordens
Educational Level: Ph.D
Areas of Interest: Underwater Robotics
Deakin University, Australia
Co-Advisors: S. Nahavandi, Mo Jamshidi
Email:
matthew.joordens@deakin.edu.au

Miguel Garza
Educational Level: Ph.D
Areas of Interest:
UANL, Mexico
Co-Advisors: A. de la O Serna, Mo Jamshidi
Email:
Lydie Roiné
Educational Level: Undergraduate
Areas of Interest: Energy
ESIGELEC, France
Email:
l.roine.10@groupe-esigelec.fr

Graduate Scholars

Dariush Shahgoshtasbi
Educational Level: Ph.D
Areas of Interest: Energy
Email: d_shahgoshtasbi@yahoo.com
Somayeh Bakhtiari
Educational Level: Ph.D
Areas of Interest: Image Processing, Image Recognition
Co-Advisors: Mo Jamshidi, Sos Agaian
Email: phm861@my.utsa.edu
Ted Shaneyfelt
Educational Level: Ph.D
Areas of Interest: Image Processing
Email: ted@ace.utsa.edu
Amir Rajaee
Educational Level: Masters
Areas of Interest: Cognitive Radio Networks, Wireless Communications, Smart Grid
Email: amirajaee@gmail.com
Kranthi Manoj Nagothu
Educational Level: Ph.D
Areas of Interest: Underwater communication, wireless networking
Email: kranthimanoj@gmail.com
Meryem Fennich
Educational Level: Masters
Areas of Interest: Energy Systems
Email: meryfenn@gmail.com
Kaveh Kheradmand
Educational Level: Masters
Areas of Interest: Energy
Email: kevinedwise@aol.com
Jeff Prevost
Educational Level: Ph.D
Areas of Interest: Wireless Networking, Cloud Computing
Affiliation: Graham Foundation
Email: jprevost@satx.rr.com
Amin Sahba
Educational Level: Masters
Areas of Interest: Real-Time Image Processing, Computer Architecture, Artificial Neural Networks
Email: amin.sahba@gmail.com
Webmaster
Ramin Sahba
Educational Level: Masters
Areas of Interest: Real-Time Image Processing, Computer Architecture, Artificial Neural Networks
Email: ramin.sahba@gmail.com
Webmaster
Yashar Sahraei Manjili
Educational Level: Ph.D
Areas of Interest: Netrowked Control Systems,
Smart Grid, Renewable Energy
Email : sca102@my.utsa.edu
Halid Kaplan
Educational Level: Masters
Areas of Interest: Control Systems, Renewable Energy, and Forecasting
Email: halid88@gmail.com
Amy W. Daali
Educational Level: Ph.D
Areas of Interest: Biomedical Engineering
Email: wdaali99@gmail.com
Elmira M. Bonab
Educational Level: Ph.D
Areas of Interest: Distributed Estimation in Adaptive Networks
Email: elmiramb@yahoo.com
Mohan Muppidi
Educational Level: Masters
Areas of Interest: Autonomous Robotics
Email: mkumar2301@gmail.com
Patrick Benavidez
Educational Level: Ph.D
Area of Interest: Swarm Robotics
Email: p_b_2003@hotmail.com
Maryam Nezamabadi Ezell
Educational Level: Masters
Areas of Interest: Parrot AR Drone quadcopter's control systems, Fuzzy logic control, Robot Operating System
Emali: vfc907@my.utsa.edu
Satish K. Vaishnav
Educational Level: Masters
Areas of Interest: Design and Testing of UAV's, Biologically Inspired Robotic Swarm Intelligence
Email: satish.vaishnav1188@gmail.com
Eric Wineman
Educational Level: Masters
Areas of Interest: Robotics in Medical Applications, Autonomous Robotics, and Sensor Interface
Emali: ericwineman17@yahoo.com
Jonathan Tapia
Educational Level: Masters
Areas of Interest:
Email: hal008@my.utsa.edu
Paul Rad
Educational Level: Ph.D
Areas of Interest: Open Cloud Computing
Email: paul.rad@rackspace.com
Gerardo Trevino
Educational Level: Masters
Areas of Interest: Renewable Energy
Southwest Research Institute, San Antonio, TX, USA
Email: rnp844@my.utsa.edu
Jack Richey
Educational Level: Bachelors Student
Areas of Interest:
Email: xje791@my.utsa.edu
Josue Cruz-Lambert
Educational Level: Masters Student
Areas of Interest: Solar-Powered Mobile Rovers
Co-Adviser: Dr. Hari Krishnaswami
Email: josueilambert@yahoo.com
Ikram Hussain
Educational Level: Masters Student
Areas of Interest: Autonomous Robotics, Motion Planning, Industrial robots, and Control Engineering
Emali: ikramhussain_m@yahoo.com
Ruthvik Goud Sara
Educational Level: Masters Student
Areas of Interest: Data Analytics in Agriculture
Email: ruthvik.goud@gmail.com
Ibrahim Mohammed
Educational Level: Masters Student
Areas of Interest: Solar-Powered Robotics, Control and Energy Systems
Email: md.ibrahm@hotmail.com
Nick Gallardo
Educational Level: Masters Student
Areas of Interest:
Email: hbq744@my.utsa.edu
Abhijith Ravikumar Puthussery
Educational Level: Masters Student
Areas of Interest: Autonomous Robots
Email: abhirputh@gmail.com
Karthik Haradi
Educational Level: Masters Student
Areas of Interest:
Email: dxq821@my.utsa.edu
Arezou Moussavi
Educational Level: Ph.D Student
Areas of Interest: Big Data
Email: arezou.moussavi@gmail.com
 

Cheng-Hao Huang
Educational Level: Ph.D
Areas of Interest: Mobile Robots
National Central University, Taiwan
Co-Advisors: Wen-June Wang, Mo Jamshidi

Email:
chhuang@ee.ncu.edu.tw

Srinath Kota
Educational Level: Undergraduate
Areas of Interest: IT and Cloud Computing
Email:
srinath_kota@hotmail.com

Undergraduate Students

 


Join us on the social media scene!
  ACE UTSA Facebook Page   ACE UTSA YouTube Channel